Ruto suspends Kebs MD

 President  Ruto suspends Kebs MD

President  Ruto suspends Kebs MD. 27 government employees who assisted in the discharge of sugar that was supposed to be destroyed in 2018 have been placed on administrative leave. This action put potential consumers of the commodity at danger.


The 20,000 bags of sugar had been ruled unfit for human consumption by the Kenya Bureau of Standards (Kebs), who ordered that it be turned into industrial ethanol.

But the consignment was instead released into the market.

Kebs and Nema in a mess

The industrial ethanol conversion was to be carried out within a multiagency framework, jointly overseen by Kebs and Nema. Since then, it has been proven that the cargo was improperly diverted and discharged. Additionally, the distiller’s open and competitive hiring standards were broken, and the necessary taxes were not paid, according to a statement from Mr. Koskei.

Kebs, the Kenya Revenue Authority (KRA), the National Police Service, the Directorate of Criminal Investigations (DCI), the Agriculture and Food Authority (AFA), and Port Health Services are the organisations whose officers have been placed on administrative leave.


Others include the Kenya Plant Health Inspectorate Service (Kephis), the Ethics and Anti-Corruption Commission (EACC), the National Environment Management Authority (Nema), the Anti-Counterfeit Agency (ACA), the Kenya Ports Authority (KPA), and the Anti-Counterfeit Agency (ACA).


The Kebs officers are Geoffrey Murira, Hilda Keror, Liston Lagat, Rono Birgen, Stephen Owuor, and Peter Olima. Bernard Njiraini is the managing director.


Joseph Kaguru, Mwanja Masinde, Stephen Muiruri, Moses Okoth, Doris Mutembei, Chacha Hondo, Carol Nyagechi, and Derick Kago are among the KRA members who have been suspended.

 President  Ruto suspends Kebs MD

Along with DCI detectives Bernard Ngumi and Raphael Mwaka, NPS officers George Mithamo and Joel Kirui have also been placed on administrative leave.


Patrick Magut and Oscar Kai have both been suspended from the AFA.


Others include Isacko Bonai (Nema), Willy Koskei (EACC), Daniel Ngugi (Kephis), Stephen Cheruiyot (ACA), Joseph Maita Mweni (Port Health Services), and Edwin Ruto (KPA).



Kebs MD suspension


Recent Articles